Letting go of perfectionism-ish and just doing.

I’m not a flaming perfectionist.  I just like things perfect-ish.  That’s what I call it.

Here’s an example of what happened this morning:

My floors are grossly dirty, especially my kitchen floor.  I have most of the crumbs and dog hair off of the floor, but it’s diiiirrr-tay.  What has been my hold up?  Waiting for some time to do it.  A chunk of time to devote to floor cleaning.  I don’t know about you, but I don’t really have chunks of time to devote to cleaning; and let’s face it, it’s just not taking priority on the things to-do list.

So, this morning the kids were all running around like nutso’s at 6:40 am.  What did I do?  I filled my bowl with warm water and some Vinegar and got my Norwex rag and just washed the kitchen floor.  I didn’t do all of my floors, just the one space.  It took me 4 minutes.  I’ve never done that before.  The baby ran through the wet floor, the dog stole a nutri-grain bar and ate it on the clean floor and another child opened the refrigerator while I was doing this.  I just took the rag across where they walked again and then dried them.  I now have a clean floor.

What I realized that by just doing this and not waiting for the perfect moment, like a quiet house, a block of time, or a Saturday or what have you, that I can just do it.  It certainly wasn’t the perfect timing or the ideal moment but I cleaned a dirty floor and that’s what needed to be done.

So, the next time I say that I just don’t have time, I have to remember that I do have time and it’s not about being perfect it’s about just doing.

But I’m pretty sure I won’t have time to clean out the fridge for a few more weeks…

6 Comments to “Letting go of perfectionism-ish and just doing.”

  1. I love this. It’s so true, there is never going to be a perfect time. I think I do this with messy areas of my life. Like I will really focus on the kids getting along with each other after school is out. Or, I’ll start eating healthy in New Jersey because the Trader Joes and whole foods are right there (isn’t that so stupid?). I need to just pick away at the areas that should be priority (which may not be the areas I want to be priority) and work at it. Sheesh, I’m pontificating at myself this morning. Sorry. It’s the caffeine. Which I will be cutting back on once….. never mind. that ain’t happenin.

    • Sometimes the comments are better than the post, like yours, ha ha! And I agree, you don’t need to start eating healthy ’til Jersey :)

  2. I concur. I often say to myself throughout the day, “just do the next thing.”. It is not perfect and will not be perfect (we’re not in Heaven yet, right?). I read a post once on one of the mommy blogs that really has served me well in this area of house keeping b/c I do like (love) perfect….She said something to the effect that even though what we do gets undone (sometimes even as we’re doing it like your example here of the floor), we’re still about the process of preserving some semblance of order and cleanliness. She had us stop and consider what our homes (or bodies) would be like if we didn’t do a little bit all the time. I presume it’s best summed up by another “mantra” of mine which is “something is better than nothing.” :)

    • oh that’s a good point — that we do it to preserve some semblance of order and cleanliness. Lord knows it never stays that way but imagine what it would be if we never even did it.

  3. Good post! Something I need to grow in. I’ve not learned “something is better than nothing.” I’m more like, “do it all at once and get it over with.” But this way of doing things definitely causes more stress. Josh is good with telling me I’m going over the top and need to leave things for another day. :)

    • I always clean in chunks, but not quite this sporadically, so this was good for me to learn this morning. And Chad reminds me often of the same that Josh does for you :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

